Today is going to be more upbeat really it is. Don’t be scared of the title. I have been thinking of my “stuff” since I watched a humorous travel documentary. Until just recently I was carrying a small carry-on bag everywhere I went. I needed all my coping skills with me. Markers,pens,pencils, chalk and two sketch books. Books, notebook, and a pla

nner. Ear buds and phone. My life and security in one bag. I am down to one sketch pad, pen, and pencil when I am on the road as an extra security. Some day I will leave all my stuff behind or will I? Maybe there is a way to have it sent to me…

This brings me to the documentary. The two main characters traveled to Vietnam and visited a stall in a bazaar that just sold paper items that represented real items. Even the sizes were correct.. want a paper scooter? You got it. Bath tub? Of course! These two picked up these items and many more. Why you ask? Is it a weird souvenir thing? No, we are now going to a temple.

At the temple they were led to a large furnace and started burning all the lovely paper items…even the bathtub. These items will now go on to the after life to their loved ones. This got me thinking of what I would send or what I would want to receive because maybe this is the loophole, maybe we can have some earthly things in heaven and instead of heaven on Earth there is Earth on heaven!

I am just going to buy for few people, paper or not, still expensive. Grandpa R. I would send a cardigan, books, speakers so you can hear, a blender with all the ingredients for whiskey sours, your Christmas tie and a car. Although you were bad at it, you did love to drive. Grandma R. I would send you paper and paint, subscription to family circle, your smokes and a chair. Flowers and houseplants, blankets and slippers, because you ruled at comfiness. Perfumes and shiny things. Manhattans and knick knacks. Marcia, my friend, flowers so many flowers, tattoos, motorcycles and lawn ornaments. Shamrocks and Valentine’s.

Now it is my turn. This will be easy since I realized what makes me happy I can carry with me. Sketchpads, books, markers,pens,pencils, chalk, and a notebook for writing. A blanket because like my Grandma, love comfiness. Coffee and a few lawn gnomes and I am set. What would you want in the after life? It is truly amazing to think of all the stuff you have and what you really want for eternity.

See, I told you this would be lighter. See you next week my readers!

Leave a comment